Jamaica bans flights from 6 South American countries for 13 days.

Jamaica has banned from Thursday until March 13 the arrival of flights from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay and Peru due to the increase of covid-19 infections in the South American region.

See also: U.S. air travelers top 1.5 million for first time since March 2020.

Jamaica’s Prime Minister, Andrew Holness, informed in a press conference that the decision to tighten mobility restrictions was agreed after local health authorities reviewed the cases of the virus in these South American countries, where there have been notable increases in cases of the coronavirus, according to EFE.

Holness stressed that the increase in cases in these six countries is due to the covid-19 strain originating in Brazil. In view of this, it was decided to restrict the arrival of flights from that region to try to minimize the entry of more variants of the virus into Jamaica.

See also: Managing lost items on aircraft and airports no longer a headache.

Under the new limitations, in addition to the flight ban, foreigners who have traveled to the United Kingdom, Brazil, Chile, Peru, Colombia, Argentina and Paraguay during the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter the Caribbean country.

Holness also pointed out that Jamaicans coming from any of these countries, who will be allowed to enter through another territory as a stopover, will be examined and forced to quarantine for a minimum of 48 hours until they obtain the results of the tests.

If these nationals test negative, they will be allowed to remain in their residences to complete a 14-day quarantine period.

In the event of a positive test result, they will have to remain in isolation at a location approved by the Jamaican Ministry of Health and Welfare.

Related Topics